2023-2024 Directors, Council Members & Executive Staff

  • All directors of the ABS are active in the medical community, though not all are surgeons or medical practitioners. All council members are surgeons in active practice, currently certified by the ABS and participating in the ABS Continuous Certification Program. Directors, council members and officers receive no remuneration for their service.


  • M. Ashraf Mansour, M.B.B.S. - Chair
    Amy J. Goldberg, M.D. - Vice Chair
    Jo Buyske, M.D. - President and Chief Executive Officer
    Marjorie J. Arca, M.D. - Rochester, N.Y.
    Paris D. Butler, M.D. - Philadelphia, Pa.
    Mark R. Chassin, M.D. - Chicago, Ill.
    Karen Fisher, J.D. - Washington, D.C.
    E. David Han, M.D. - St. Louis, Mo.
    Rebecca M. Minter, M.D. - Madison, Wis.
    M. Timothy Nelson, M.D. - Tulsa, Okla.
    John H. Stewart, IV, M.D., M.B.A. - Chicago, Ill.
    Beth H. Sutton, M.D. - Wichita Falls, Texas
    Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., M.D. - Gainesville, Fla.

Council Members

  • Peter Angelos, M.D., Ph.D. - Chicago, Ill.
    Bernadette Aulivola, M.D. - Maywood, Ill.
    Douglas C. Barnhart, M.D. - Salt Lake City, Utah
    Kellie R. Brown, M.D. - Milwaukee, Wis.
    Rabih A. Chaer, M.D. - Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Herbert Chen, M.D. - Birmingham, Ala.
    Callisia N. Clarke, M.D. - Milwaukee, Wis.
    Scott D. Coates, M.D. - Carl Junction, Mo.
    Daniel L. Dent, M.D. - San Antonio, Texas
    Bridget Fahy, M.D. - Albuquerque, N.M.
    Caprice C. Greenberg, M.D., M.P.H. - Chapel Hill, N.C.
    Andrea A. Hayes, M.D. - Washington, D.C.
    Amy N. Hildreth, M.D. - Winston-Salem, N.C.
    Benjamin T. Jarman, M.D. - La Crosse, Wis.
    Joseph T. Jenkins, M.D. - Nags Head, N.C.
    Anne C. Larkin, M.D. - Worcester, Mass.
    Brenessa M. Lindeman, M.D. - Birmingham, Ala.
    Joshua M.V. Mammen, M.D. - Omaha, Neb.
    Ricardo D. Martinez, M.D. - McAllen, Texas
    Kelly M. McMasters, M.D., Ph.D. - Louisville, Ky.
    John D. Mitchell, M.D. - Denver, Colo.
    Valentine N. Nfonsam, M.D. - Tucson, Ariz.
    Benedict C. Nwomeh, M.D., M.P.H. - Columbus, Ohio
    Kim M. Olthoff, M.D. - Philadelphia, Pa.
    Harry T. Papaconstantinou, M.D. - Temple, Texas
    Aurora D. Pryor, M.D. - Stony Brook, N.Y.
    Carla M. Pugh, M.D. - Stanford, Calif.
    Carmen T. Ramos-Irizarry, M.D. - Naples, Fla.
    Bryan K. Richmond, M.D. - Charleston, W.Va.
    Allison J. Robinson, M.D. - Bishop, Calif.
    Deborah M. Stein, M.D. - Baltimore, Md.
    Jennifer F. Tseng, M.D. - Boston, Mass.
    Kasper S. Wang, M.D. - Toronto, Ontario
    Peter S. Yoo, M.D. - New Haven, Conn.

Executive Staff

  • Jo Buyske, M.D. - President and Chief Executive Officer
    Bruce A. Perler, M.D. - Vice President
    John D. Mellinger, M.D. - Vice President
    Jessica A. Schreader - Chief of Staff/Chief Administrative Officer
    Adanwimo "Ada" Okafor, Esq. - General Counsel and Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer
    Mark J. Hickey - Chief Operating Officer
    Amit R. T. Joshi, M.D. - Editor-in-Chief, SCORE®
    Andrew Jones, Ph.D. - Director of Psychometrics and Research
    Mary K. Mackey, CPA - Chief Financial Officer
See also our Contact Us page